Microwave Scalloped Potato & Bacon

I can’t claim this as my own invention, so I must give credit to the original source, which is the Australian Women’s Weekly Microwave Cookbook (#1). When I first had a microwave oven, about 20 years ago, I was determined to only buy one if I could justify the purchase by actually COOKING in it, not just heating baked beans and melting butter! I bought the 2 AWW microwave cookbooks, because I find all of this series of books are tried and true, really do turn out like the pictures (not like some posh celebrity coffee table cookbook that you never actually make anything out of, which so often happens), and they are also quite inexpensive, which was a major consideration for me at that time.

My copies of both of these books (as with most of my AWW ones) are food-splattered, falling to bits at the spine, and generally well loved. They have given me SO much over the years. They are both out of print, but you can easily find them on eBay or other secondhand book sources. I’m including the pics and ISBNs below in case you want to go track down copies – well worth it.

I’ve written this down with quantities as per the book; however, I do tend to not measure it these days, so feel free to play with the quantities of potato/bacon. I add parsley sometimes too.

This dish is ideal for preparing up to the point of putting in the microwave for final heating, then putting aside until you are ready to serve.

Scalloped Potatoes With Bacon

500g potatoes, thinly sliced

4 bacon rashers, chopped

3 spring onions, chopped

300g carton sour cream (I use low-fat)

1 cup tasty cheese, grated

Place potato slices evenly into a shallow dish. Cover & cook on HIGH for 10 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Combine bacon and spring onions in a small dish; cover with a paper towel, & cook on HIGH for 2 minutes or until slightly soft.

Spread sour cream over potatoes. Top with bacon mixture and grated cheese. Cook on HIGH for 5 minutes or until heated through and cheese melted.

Serves 4-6 according to the book, but only 3-4 according to me!!!

Happy Fooding!

ISBN 0949128325

ISBN 0949892718

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kaye Dexter
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 20:02:01

    I have one of those AWW books !! didn’t realise they were so old but I love them too and have used mine a great deal

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Delightfully Simple « Salmon & Avocado
  3. Trackback: Cheese & Herb Tomatoes | Salmon & Avocado

Leave a comment