Pea & Ham Soup

A great Winter lunch.

In some parts of the country, cooler weather is starting to happen. Not near me though, but I hate Winter so I am quite happy about that.  We have a long weekend here at the moment, which makes no difference to me really as I don’t have any classes on Monday anyway – but it means my friends are available to hang out with – usually involving food, beer & wine 🙂

You know by now that I love soups, no matter what time of year – here’s a hot one to contrast with the Gazpacho earlier in the week.

This recipe is from my very awesome mummy, and is one of my favourite soups. Every time I visit her in Melbourne I request this for lunch.  Sooooooo yummy.  And it freezes well too.

Pea & Ham Soup

800g ham bone (hock)

1 medium onion, peeled & chopped

2 cups yellow split peas

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 medium carrots, peeled & chopped

2 bay leaves

10 cups water

cracked pepper, to taste

Combine all ingredients in saucepan.  Simmer, covered, for 1-1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.

Remove ham bone, remove meat from bone, chop meat finely and discard bone. Return meat to saucepan;  stir until heated through.  Discard bay leaves before serving.  Serves 4.

Delicious!

Thanks to Katydid for sending me her soup photos.  Happy Fooding!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kaye Dexter
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 08:30:30

    ……..it sure is a Winter warmer – delish

    Reply

  2. Susan Morton
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 10:20:18

    Sounds very like my Canadian recipe.
    But I put it all through the mincer before cooking (not the bone )
    This soup is the main reason for eating a ham at Christmas time!

    Reply

  3. chellelong
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 10:24:30

    I like that idea Susan. I have a hand blender that I use to puree soups and yes it would work well with this one.

    Reply

Leave a comment